BUILTHERITAGE
Stewarded by the City of Edmonton Archives
  • By Time
  • By Place
  • By Story
⌘K
BUILTHERITAGE
Stewarded by the City of Edmonton Archives

Discover the structures, places, and stories that shaped Edmonton's built environment.

Resources

NewsFAQsLinks

Contact

City of Edmonton Archivesarchives@edmonton.ca780-496-8711

We acknowledge that the land on which Edmonton is built is Treaty Six Territory. We thank the diverse Indigenous Peoples whose footsteps have marked this territory for centuries, such as nêhiyaw (Cree), Dené, Anishinaabe (Saulteaux), Nakota Isga (Nakota Sioux), and Niitsitapi (Blackfoot) peoples. We also acknowledge this as the Métis homeland and the home of one of the largest communities of Inuit south of the 60th parallel. It is a welcoming place for all peoples who come from around the world to share Edmonton as a home. It is important that we not only recognize our shared histories, but also each other's contributions to establishing the built heritage of Edmonton and Area.

© 2026 City of Edmonton Archives
Privacy Policy•Terms of Use•Accessibility
  1. Neighbourhoods

Central Mcdougall

This neighbourhood, bound by 107 and 111 Avenues, and 101 and 109 Streets, was named for John Alexander McDougall, a local businessman and mayor who went into business with Richard Secord.

On this record

Connections
29Connections
Stories
2Stories
Photos
134Photos

On this page

Details

District
Central
Ward
O-day'min
Boundary established
October 1, 1981
Neighbourhood number
1030
Official name
Central McDougall

Location

Explore how Central Mcdougall fits on the map: the gold fill is the boundary in effect for the selected time period, dashed outlines show every earlier superseded shape from prior eras, red pins are linked structures built in that era, and purple pins are sites. Use the time period buttons below the map to explore the neighbourhood over time. Boundary history is documented in Stories.

Loading map…

About

In 1912, the Hudson's Bay Company (HBC) sold off the remainder of its reserve lands in Edmonton at the height of a local land boom. In 1882, the Dominion of Canada had granted the HBC land reserves around most of its forts in exchange for control of the HBC's claim to Rupert's Land. The HBC reserve around Fort Edmonton stretched from 101 Street to 121 Street, and from the river to 118 Avenue, encompassing what is now Central McDougall. The boom collapsed, however, and despite having Edmonton's only high school (located at the time beside the current Victoria School location), McDougall School (built in 1913), and the Prince of Wales Armouries (completed in 1915), most of the neighbourhood remained vacant. Slow growth led to the almost full development by the 1950s. The HBC had placed a caveat on these reserve lands, limiting any future development to single-family homes. Despite the restrictions, the area was redeveloped in the 1960s and homes south of 108 Avenue were replaced with low-rise apartments and commercial areas spread throughout the neighbourhood. Once again there was redevelopment in the late 1970s but this time some developers were faced with a court action that stemmed from the HBC caveat and apartment projects were blocked. After a lengthy process, Alberta Courts removed the caveat in 1981, paving the way for the present-day multi-use community.

Over the next decade, Central McDougall was faced with rental rates of almost 96 percent. The community had an above average proportion of homes with a primarily young adult, transient population. Absentee landlords became an issue, the local playground became unsafe and was removed, and the area was perceived as a high crime locale. In 1988 the Canadian National Railyards on 104 Avenue closed and warehouses on either side of 107 Avenue, dependant on rail traffic, shut down. In the 1990s, 107 Avenue from 95 Street to 116 Street was established as a Business Revitalization Zone (BRZ) and renamed the Avenue of Nations. The hope was to capitalize on the area's cultural diversity and improve the surrounding communities. Although the undertaking didn't last the decade, it spurred future activity with the hopes of breathing new life into local communities like Central McDougall.

Connections

Structures

  • A. MacDonald Building
  • Carter Residence
  • John A. McDougall Elementary Junior High School
  • Prince of Wales Armouries
  • St. John's Ukrainian Orthodox Church
  • Victoria Composite High School
  • Victoria School

People

  • Roland Lines

Time Periods

  • Urban Growth: 1905-1913
  • The Post War Years: 1946-1970

Architectural Styles

  • Byzantine
  • Neo-classical

Character Defining Elements

  • Brick Cladding
  • Brick Structure
  • Carving
  • Columns
  • Cornice
  • Cruciform Plan
  • Cupola
  • Dome
  • Entablature
  • Flat Roof
  • Intersecting Gable Roof
  • Mosaic Tile
  • Orthodox Cross
  • Pediment
  • Rectangular Footprint
  • Turret
  • Two Storeys

Stories

Includes official boundary history and other narratives linked to this neighbourhood.

Media

Showing 1–12 of 134 photos

  • More pages
CavanaghPrevious neighbourhood

Neighbourhood 81 of 407

ChamberyNext neighbourhood